HSCI faculty news

Paola Arlotta, PhD, was the recipient, along with J. Keith Joung, MD, PhD, and Feng Zhang, PhD, of an NIH Director’s Transformative Research Project award for their work to regenerate specific components of the nervous system as a way to treat neurodegenerative diseases.

David Breault, MD, PhD
, was awarded a Harvard Institute of Translational Immunology/Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust pilot grant to study the role of intestinal stem cells in inflammatory bowel disease.

Benjamin Ebert, MD, PhD, was elected to the American Society of Clinical Investigation.

Kevin Eggan, PhD, received the Roslyn Abramson Award, which is given annually to an assistant or associate professor (one in the sciences, one in the humanities) for excellence in undergraduate teaching at Harvard.

Research done by Jeffrey Karp, PhD, to develop a cream that may protect people who are allergic to nickel, was featured recently on CNN’s website. The product contains nanoparticles of calcium carbonate.

Bjorn Olsen, PhD, received the Distinguished Scientist Award for Craniofacial Biology Research from the International Association of Dental Research, the Distinguished Investigator Award from the International Society for Matrix Biology, and the Henry Gray Award from the American Association of Anatomists.

Stuart Orkin, MD, and Bjorn Olsen, PhD, were named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). AAAS fellows are honored for their contributions to science or its applications.

Sridhar Ramaswamy, MD, and Amy Wagers, PhD, were among 13 scientists to receive three-year grants from “Stand Up To Cancer (SU2C), which are awarded to scientists conducting high risk/high reward translational cancer research. Ramaswamy’s grant supports his research with dormant cancer cells. Wagers’ grant is for work aimed at developing new therapeutic strategies for soft-tissue sarcoma.

Gregory Verdine, PhD, gave a press conference on his lab’s work on next-generation therapeutics at the American Chemical Society national meeting in March. In April, he received the 2011 American Association for Cancer Research Award for Outstanding Achievement in Chemistry in Cancer Research. Verdine was also featured in an article in the April 21 issue of SciBX (Science-Business eXchange).

Amy Wagers, PhD, was honored with several recent scientific awards, including the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, the Glenn Foundation Award in Aging Research, the Spark Award for women in science (Harvard-Radcliffe), and the Duke TIP Distinguished Alumni Award. Wagers was also featured in articles in Marie Claire and Biotechniques.