Honors and awards

  • Amy Wagers, PhD, Konrad Hochedlinger, PhD, Kevin Eggan, PhD, and Bradley Bernstein, MD, PhD were winners of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute Early Career Science Competition.
  • Doug Melton, PhD, was selected as one of TIME magazine’s 100 most influential people for 2009. This is the second time he has received this honor; the first time was in 2007.
  • David Scadden, MD, received an honorary doctorate from the Faculty of Medicine at Lund University in Sweden.
  • Konrad Hochedlinger, PhD, and Jeffrey Karp, PhD, both appeared on Technology Review’s TR35, which recognizes 35 outstanding innovators under the age of 35 each year.
  • Popular Mechanics also listed Karp’s “Biodegradable and Biocompatible Gecko-Inspired Tissue Adhesive” at number 17 in its “Top 20 New Biotech Breakthroughs that Will Change Medicine.”
  • Leonard Zon, MD, received the 2009 Muhlenberg College Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award, from his undergraduate alma mater, where he studied chemistry and natural sciences.
  • Sean Wu, MD, PhD, received the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award, which is designed to support unusually creative new investigators with highly innovative research ideas at an early stage of their career.
  • Paul Huang, MD, PhD, was elected to become a Fellow of the American College of Cardiology, the foremost professional society representing heart specialists in the U.S. and throughout the world.
  • Amy Wagers, PhD, won the Smith Family Prize, an award given in recognition of her scientific achievements since receiving the Smith Family New