Two HSCI Principal Faculty receive international recognition

June 22, 2017

Jayaraj Rajagopal and George Q. Daley

Adapted from an ISSCR press release

For the second year in a row, the International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR) recognized two HSCI Principal Faculty members at the ISSCR Annual Meeting for their outstanding contributions to the stem cell science field. George Q. Daley, MD, PhD, received the ISSCR Public Service Award, and Jayaraj Rajagopal, MD, received the ISSCR Dr. Susan Lim Award Outstanding Young Investigator Award.

An outstanding physician-scientist and leading public advocate for the responsible ethical oversight of human stem cell research, Daley has long been involved in promoting and upholding rigorous standards for the field. He initiated and played key roles in the formulation of three sets of ISSCR guidelines, for the Conduct of Human Embryonic Stem Cell Research (2006), the Clinical Translation of Stem Cells (2008), and Stem Cell Research and Clinical Translation (2016), which are in use around the world.

“Daley’s unwavering commitment to the ethical conduct of research and the integrity of the field is unparalleled,” said Temple. “He continues to advocate on policy issues affecting the field, and is widely respected for his insights, experience and accomplishments.”

Rajagopal has established himself as a young leader in the field of lung stem cells and lung repair, working with both mouse and human models. As a physician-scientist, Rajagopal has done genetic studies and lineage tracing in the mouse lung, and established a strong research program focused on the repair and regeneration of human lung tissue. His research has provided new insights into the progression of diseases such as asthma, Cystic Fibrosis, COPD, and lung cancers.

“Rajagopal and his lab have already made important contributions to the understanding of cell biology in the lung, which have implications for treatment of lung cancer and respiratory disease,” said ISSCR CEO Nancy Witty. “He is also known for his support of young investigators and physician-scientists, which is a great testament to Rajagopal’s commitment to the field.”

As the third HSCI Principal Faculty member to be named Outstanding Young Investigator in the award’s nine-year history, Rajagopal joins Fernando Camargo, PhD, who received the award in 2016, and Konrad Hochedlinger, PhD, who received the inaugural award in 2009, in exemplifying the strength and talent of early career researchers within HSCI.